Subscribe to Newsletter

This project is supported by The Central Qld Coast Landcare Network through funding from the Australian Government's Caring for our Country

Caring for our Country

Pioneer Catchment & Landcare Group is supported by Mackay Regional Council through the Natural Environment Levy and Reef Catchments (Mackay Whitsunday Isaac) Limited.

Reef Catchments Mackay Regional Council
No news found.  
Wetlands Coast Landscape Waterways Sugar cane and waterways Landscape Rainforest

Who is Pioneer Catchment & Landcare Group?

Pioneer Catchment & Landcare Group Inc. is a non-profit community based, natural resource management organisation, incorporated under the Associations Incorporation Act 1981. It was formed in the early 1990's as one of the first catchment groups in Queensland, and was then called Pioneer Integrated Catchment Management Association (PICMA).

The Pioneer Catchment area includes sub-catchments of all coastal streams from Alligator Creek in the north to Sandy Creek in the south, and extends west to the Clark Connors Range. The catchment includes the urban centre of Mackay and townships including Marian, Mirani, Eton, Walkerston and Calen.

Pioneer Catchment & Landcare Group is governed by an elected management committee who are representatives from a wide range of interest groups including local government, rural producers, commerce and industry, urban community, conservation and education. The current management committee includes the following members:

  • Chair –  Dave Hunter
  • Deputy Chairperson – Dianne Williams
  • Secretary – Position vacant:
          Please send Expressions of Interest to

  • Treasurer – Nancy Pratt
  • Committee Member – Sharon Dwyer
  • Committee Member – Position vacant:
          Please send Expressions of Interest to

  • Committee Member  –  Position vacant:
          Please send Expressions of Interest to

PCL currently has three part-time Officers:
  • Coordinator – Nichole Zahra 
  • Administration Officer – Wendy Eiteneuer
    (Interim Secretary to the Management Committee)
  • Project Officer – Tom Crow